Los Monitos’ Wine and Language series made the news (Hear me say, “I would like some wine, please!” in French)

Man, these morning shows are like clockwork and a rapid fire gun show combined.

When Bill from Los Monitos Language Center called to tell me our Wine and Language series — the French part of which I’ll be teaching next week — was going on the air, I said I’ve always dreamed of being a star.

Hardy har.

Our four point two-five minutes of pure fame flew by so fast I didn’t even have time to check out the cool teleprompters. We sat down on that skinny grey couch and no sooner had I been hooked up to a mic and shaken the hands of Terry and Rachel, than the cameraman announced “ten seconds” and we were live.

I have no idea how I remembered my French.

But I did! Which leads me to believe I just need more time in front of the camera to get comfortable…

I’d love it if you got a chuckle out of the video…and I’d be even more thrilled if my Louisville readers made it to Vint next week for wine and French on the patio.

Hope to see you there!

6 Comments

Filed under Culture, Language, Wine

6 responses to “Los Monitos’ Wine and Language series made the news (Hear me say, “I would like some wine, please!” in French)

  1. J.F. Meyer

    Emily! Telegenic, poised, articulate, and (seemingly) a native French speaker. Utterly…how you say…*magnifique*!

  2. Hee hee. The hosts need to sign up for lessons with you! 😀

  3. Pedro do Brasil

    J’aimerai du vin est encore mieux! 😉
    Well done Milie!

    • Oui mais “je voudrais” est traditionnellement “correct” dans les cours de francais ici aux US. Moi, je dis “j’aimerais” parce que c’est plus facile a prononcer, mais bon, sur le fichier c’etait marque’ “je voudrais.” J’espere que tout va bien pour toi Pedro, mon ami voyageur. Bisous!

  4. Off topic, but I’d thought that I’d pop in to let you know that I gave you the Versatile Blogger Award! 😀 Bisous, ma chère!

Leave a Reply

