Clif Family Winery: bringing new meaning to “wine” and “bar”

I’ve been a fan of Clif energy bars ever since my dad started eating them for breakfast about ten years ago. (Yes, for breakfast.) Organic and packed with fiber and protein, not to mention very tasty, they were a staple during my college years, and I battled to limit my consumption to pre-workouts with the crew team.

As much as I loved the bars, it was news to me that the Clif “family” has a winery too. I met Phil Roberts, regional sales manager for Clif Family Winery, last weekend at the Cincinnati Wine Festival and was pretty impressed with the lineup. I tasted Kit’s Killer Cab and Gary’s Improv Zinfandel, but I was most intrigued by their Climber Pouch series: an unoaked Chardonnay from Northern California and a Central Coast Cabernet Sauvignon, both packed in hiker-biker-explorer friendly pouches.

“They’re convenient and they last up to one month after opening,” Phil explained. “You should write about it!”

In the spirit of full disclosure, I can honestly say there was no other solicitation.

“You’re right,” I said. “I should!” I jotted myself a “clif note” on the back of Phil’s business card.

So here I am, still pretty taken with the whole pouch idea. Most of you know I consider myself traditional when it comes to labeling and bottling. I’m not into little black dresses on wine labels and I steer clear of most non-glass packaging (boxed wine: egad!). But I like this idea. It’s pioneering in an organic, CSA way, rather than in the manipulative, chemistry experiment way that is getting a bad rap these days.

Clif is a large company with a line of products including Luna Bar and a range of services, like their weekly Community Supported Agriculture efforts, which deliver fruits and veggies to locals in the St. Helena, CA area. Despite its size, however, the brand does a good job standing by the down home image evoked by “Clif Family Farm.” They aim to create “unique regional wines” with a taste of terroir and what seems like a healthy dose of fun. (The description for Kit’s Killer Cab includes “cherry cola and spice” among its flavors!)

I appreciate that they don’t take themselves so seriously, and that the “all terrain wine transport” pouches made it through to production. Coming from the Clif Bar people it makes perfect sense. Gary and Kit are both adventurers, and the idea for the Climber wine had its origins in biking trips in the French and Italian Alps. Can you blame them for wanting to make such a beverage more portable?

So yes, for a girl who likes to write about good old fashioned French wine, this concept is pretty out there. I like it though. In my opinion, there’s a place for all kinds of respectfully made wines. Given this company’s sustainability philosophy and the sheer convenience of the Climber pouch, I’d say Clif Family Winery should have a place in every outdoorsy explorer’s heart!

PS: Notice that the climber on the front of the pouch seems to be scaling a stream of flowing wine. Genius, I tell you!

Photo credits

Click here to read the translation from Melie!

Domaine vinicole Clif : un nouveau sens aux mots vin et barres de céréales

J’ai toujours été fan des barres énergétiques Clif, depuis que mon père a commencé à en manger au petit-déjeuner il y une dizaine d’années (oui, au petit-déjeuner). Naturelles et bourrées de fibres et de protéines, sans dire vraiment goûteuses, elles furent l’aliment de base de mes années lycée, et je me suis battue pour en limiter ma consommation aux séances d’entrainement par équipe.

Autant j’aime leurs barres de céréales, mais j’ai appris seulement récemment que la ‘’famille’’ Clif possédait également un domaine vinicole. J’ai rencontré Phil Roberts, le responsable régional des ventes du Domaine Clif le week-end dernier à la Foire aux Vins de Cincinnati, et j’ai été plutôt impressionnée par leur gamme. J’ai goûté leur Kit’s Killer Cab et leur Gary’s Improv Zinfandel, mais j’ai été plus intriguée par leur gamme Climber Pouch (la gourde du grimpeur NdlTr): un Chardonnay du nord de la Californie et un Cabernet Sauvignon de la côte centre, tous deux emballés dans des poches adaptées aux randonneurs, bikers, explorateurs.

‘’Ils sont pratiques et se conservent plus d’un mois après ouverture’’ explique Phil. ‘’Vous devriez faire un papier là-dessus !’’

En toute franchise, je peux dire honnêtement que je n’ai pas eu d’autre proposition.

‘’Vous avez raison’’ ai-je dit ‘’Je devrais !’’ j’ai écrit une petite note ‘’clif’’ au dos de la carte de visite de Phil.

Et donc me voici, toujours plutôt impressionnée par cette histoire de poche. La plupart d’entre vous sait que je suis plutôt traditionnelle en ce qui concerne l’étiquetage et l’embouteillage. Je ne suis pas pour les petits robes noires sur les étiquettes de vin et je reste à l’écart de la plupart des conditionnements hors bouteille en verre (du vin en boîte : parbleu !). Mais j’aime cette idée. C’est une innovation dans le naturel, l’agriculture raisonnée, plutôt que dans les expériences manipulatrices et chimiques qui ont plutôt mauvaise réputation en ce moment.

Clif est une grande entreprise avec une gamme de produit incluant les barres de céréales Luna et une offre de services telle leur livraison hebdomadaire de fruits et légumes aux habitants de la région de St Helena, Californie dans le cadre du Commerce Equitable. Malgré sa taille, la marque réussit à conserver l’image maison évoquée par la ‘’Ferme de la Famille Clif’’. Ils tentent de créer des ‘’vins régionaux uniques’’ avec un goût de ‘’terroir’’ et ce qui semble être une dose de joie salutaire (La description du Kit’s Killer Cab mentionne ‘’cola cerise et épices’’ parmi ses saveurs !)

J’apprécie qu’ils ne se prennent pas trop au sérieux, et que leurs gourdes pour ‘’transport du vin tout-terrain’’ aient vu le jour. Dans la continuité des barres de céréales Clif, cela prend tout son sens. Gary et Kit sont tous deux des aventuriers et leur idée de vin du grimpeur leur vient de randonnées à vélo dans les Alpes Françaises et Italiennes. Peut-on les blâmer d’avoir voulu rendre un tel breuvage plus transportable ?

Alors d’accord, pour une fille qui aime écrire sur les bons vieux vins Français, le concept est plutôt hors-sujet. Mais pourtant je l’aime. Pour moi, il y a de la place pour tous les vins élaborés avec respect. Etant donnés la philosophie de développement durable de l’entreprise et le côté purement pratique de la gourde du Grimpeur, je dirais que le Domaine de la Famille Clif doit avoir sa place dans le cœur de tout explorateur de plein air.

PS : Notez que le grimpeur sur le devant de la gourde semble escalader un torrent de vin. Brillant, je vous l’avais dit !

2 Comments

Filed under Wine

2 responses to “Clif Family Winery: bringing new meaning to “wine” and “bar”

  1. maryanita

    Emily,
    What a great introduction for me to Clif Winery and products. I travel often and will make a point to try one of their wines! Nice photos! Love, love, love your blog! You too!

  2. I had to “lol” at your picture. What fun! ^.^

Leave a Reply

