Fromage: Part of a balanced meal

Small wonder the French are fans of New York Style Cheesecake. This Thanksgiving weekend, while my parents were eating turkey and pumpkin pie across the Atlantic, I was eating cheesecake at the special request of my French family.

I should mention that before coming to France I never ate cheesecake. Mom made delicious chocolate and Angel Food cakes, but I’m quite sure a cheesecake never emerged from our Kentucky oven. That’s why, on the only two occasions I’ve ever been called to make one such dessert, my stomach lurched at the possibility of disaster. I’d heard about cracked cakes and stiff cakes, overly beaten or overly cooked cakes.

“It’s not in my blood,” I wanted to say. “I don’t know how to make a cheesecake!”

But then, defeat is not in my blood either.

My first cheesecake, you’ll remember, was a success. I had my doubts about the second one. At Nicolas’ sister’s house for the weekend, I was on foreign soil in more ways than one. Unknown oven. Unfamiliar baking dish. Thermomix. Let the challenge begin.

After freeing 45 individually wrapped cheese squares, I mixed, I stirred, and I poured. I threw it all in a preheated oven, set the timer and said a prayer.

It cracked. It got a little golden on top. And you know what? It didn’t matter!

Sliced and smothered with beautiful poached berries, it was a sight to be seen. Too bad the only picture I have is my pre-slice artistic expression of relief that it came out alright:

(You’ll have to take my word for it when I say it was beautiful all divvied up.)

Oh, the French and their cheese. I feel I must poke a little fun and specify that my cheesecake followed a full cheese course.

What can I say? It was destined to be a success. Almost incredible the French didn’t invent the ol’ cheesecake themselves!

TRADUCTION…

Fromage : Partie d’un repas équilibré

Pas étonnant que les Français soient fans du Cheesecake new-yorkais. En ce week-end de Thanksgiving, tandis que mes parents mangeaient de la dinde et de la tarte à la citrouille de l’autre côté de l’Atlantique, je mangeais du cheesecake à la demande expresse de ma famille française.

Je dois préciser qu’avant de venir en France, je n’avais jamais mangé de cheesecake. Maman faisait de délicieux gâteaux au chocolat et génoises, mais je suis presque sûre qu’aucun cheesecake n’est jamais sorti de notre four du Kentucky. C’est pourquoi aux deux seules occasions où j’ai été sommée de réaliser ce dessert, mon estomac a fait des nœuds à l’éventualité d’un désastre. J’avais entendu parler de gâteaux craquelés ou durs, trop battus ou trop cuits.

‘’Ce n’est pas dans mes gènes’’ aurais-je voulu dire. ‘’Je ne sais pas faire un cheesecake !’’

Mais bon, le défaitisme n’est pas dans mes gènes non plus.

Mon premier cheesecake, vous vous en souvenez, fut un succès. J’avais des doutes sur le second. Chez la sœur de Nicolas pour le week-end, j’étais en terre inconnue, à plus d’un titre. Four inconnu, plats inconnus. Thermomix. Place au jeu.

Après avoir libéré 45 portions individuelles de fromage de leur emballage, j’ai mixé, battu, versé. J’ai jeté le tout dans un four préchauffé, mis la minuterie et dit une prière.

Cela a craquelé. Cela a un peu doré sur le dessus. Et vous savez quoi ? peu importe.

Découpé et camouflé par de superbes myrtilles pochées, c’était très présentable. Dommage que la seule photo que j’ai prise soit l’expression artistique avant découpage de mon soulagement à l’idée de m’en être sortie :

(Vous allez devoir me croire sur parole quand je vous dis que c’était magnifique une fois partagé.)

Ah, les Français et leur fromage. Je sens que je dois me moquer un peu et préciser que mon cheesecake suivait un plateau de fromage entier.

Que dire ? ça ne pouvait être qu’un succès. C’est presque incroyable que les Français n’aient pas inventé eux-mêmes notre bon vieux cheesecake !

5 Comments

Filed under Culture, Food, Just for laughs, Recipes/Cooking

5 responses to “Fromage: Part of a balanced meal

  1. Jacques

    We can’t wait to see some pictures!
    And here I am, French in a foreign Los Angeles, eating costal cheddar cheese made in England, makes me sick. I would die for a little piece of the “Comte de Marie Amelie” like my daughter says.

  2. Emily, your blog is an absolute feast! Fromage for the soul.

  3. Isa

    C’était absolument delicious ma belle… tu as comblé toutes mes envies de femme enceinte… à noter que j’ai les mêmes envies quand je ne suis pas enceinte !!! Jacques en témoignera… Alors je commande la même chose (sans le thermomix promis) à ta prochaine visite : je suis sûr que bébé adorera !!!

    BIZZZZZ

    Isa

Leave a Reply

