Airport Suspense

Probably the worst thing about waiting at the airport for someone you love is waiting.  Tonight I was running late on purpose — to avoid the squirming, tippy-toed-squinty-eyed searching across that line you can’t cross because family members are a threat to security. But then, of course the plane was a few minutes late getting to the gate…

And there I was, dancing around as if there were ants in my pants, waving at strange men I thought from afar were him, and then giving them the “sorry, I’m a little excited” look when they passed me to go to baggage claim.

Was he sitting at the back of the plane?  The dreaded lavatory seat? What could be taking so long!?

Was it possible I had mistaken the day? The hour?  Had I forgotten what he looked like in our time apart?  Maybe he had already passed by me?

Forget romantic sweep-you-off-your-feet kisses.  As soon as he appeared I jumped on him like some kind of leech, feet dangling behind me as I threw my arms around his neck and he braced against my weight.  He lugged me forward and out of the way of oncoming traffic: businessmen, singles, families with small children, etc, and I planted his cheeks with loud, meaningful smooches.

It was amazing.

TRADUCTION A LA MELIE:

Suspense à l’aéroport

Le pire lorsque l’on attend quelqu’un qu’on aime à l’aéroport, c’est l’attente. Ce soir j’ai fait exprès d’arriver en retard – afin d’éviter de me tortiller sur la pointe des pieds en louchant, cherchant de l’autre côté de cette ligne que vous ne pouvez pas franchir parce que les membres de la famille sont une menace pour la sécurité. Mais bien sûr, l’avion a pris quelques minutes de retard pour venir jusqu’à la porte …

Je me tenais donc là, dansant comme si j’avais des fourmis dans les jambes, agitant les bras vers d’étranges hommes que de loin je prenais pour lui, et leur adressant mon regard « pardon je suis un peu nerveuse » lorsqu’ils passaient devant moi pour récupérer leurs bagages.

Etait-il assis à l’arrière de l’avion ? le redouté siège toilettes ? qu’est-ce qui prend autant de temps !?

Est-il possible que je me sois trompée de jour ? d’heure ? est-ce que j’ai oublié à quoi il ressemblait le temps notre séparation ? peut être est-il déjà passé devant moi ?

Oubliez les baisers romantiques et passionnés. Dès qu’il est apparu je me suis jetée sur lui comme une espèce de sangsue, mes pieds se balançant tandis que je passais mes bras autour de son cou et qu’il supportait tout mon poids. Il m’a entrainée vers l’avant, en dehors du flux des arrivants : hommes d’affaires, célibataires, familles avec enfants en bas âge, etc … et j’ai dévoré ses joues d’énormes bisous expressifs.

C’était époustouflant.

5 Comments

Filed under Just for laughs, Kentucky

5 responses to “Airport Suspense

  1. Jacques

    Good Lord, you two get a room already, kids are watching…

  2. Awww, a romantic reunion. My heart goes pitter-pat. ❤
    I love watching people at the airport. It’s so much fun. Have a wonderful time with Nico. We’ll have to get together!

  3. Gotta enjoy those French bises! 😀 Say “hi” to Nico on my behalf!

  4. Julie

    Aww, very sweet Emily! I’m sure you will both enjoy his visit ^_^

  5. Val

    My favorite nerds! You were talking about Boston Logan Airport, right?

Leave a Reply

