A strange stillness

Out of the mist, a pretty face.

It’s been really hot lately.  I think my French friends would be shocked to know that the temperatures have been over one hundred degrees Fahrenheit (around 38 degrees Celsius) in Louisville.

With the humidity it feels hotter.

When it rains, it’s almost tropical.

But when the rain stops and I catch the regard of a pretty little Thoroughbred heading my way, her wet forelock hanging limp between her kind eyes, I escape for a moment from the heat and humidity and bask in the beauty of what both have left behind.

A strange stillness dwells
In the eye of the horse,
A composure that appears
To regard the world from
A measured distance….
It is a gaze from the depths
Of a dream…
— Hans-Heinrich Isenbart

TRADUCTION A LA MELIE:

Une étrange tranquillité

Sortant de la brume, une jolie tête.

Il a fait très chaud ces derniers temps. Je pense que mes amis Français seraient surpris d’apprendre que la température a dépassé les 100 degrés Fahrenheit (environ 38 degrés Celsius) à Louisville.

Avec l’humidité on a l’impression qu’il fait encore plus chaud.

Quand il pleut, c’est presque tropical.

Mais quand la pluie s’arrête et que je prête attention à un joli petit pur-sang venant vers moi, son toupet trempé retombant entre ses yeux tendres, je m’évade un moment de la chaleur et de l’humidité et je jouis de la beauté de ce que tous les deux ont laissé derrière.

Une étrange tranquillité repose
Dans l’œil du cheval,
Un calme qui semble
Observer le monde
A distance mesurée …
C’est un regard depuis les profondeurs
D’’un rêve …

–Hans Heinrich Isenbart

Leave a comment

Filed under Gratitude, Home, Horses, Photography

Leave a Reply

