Lying under a different sky

{Morning Sky: Kentucky}

“I think the sky is different here.”

We’re lying on our backs in the hammock, Kate and I.  Folksy tunes stream from the iPhone between us and for the last fifteen minutes that’s been nearly all in the way of sound coming from our little spot under the maple tree.  We’ve been listening to the lyrics — or I have — while Kate listens for the “collapses” in rhythm and the acoustic complementarity among group members.  She’s become a regular critic lately, a propensity she modestly attributes to her hours spent studying medical vocabulary to the sounds of Bon Iver and The Black Keys.

If I had been gone ten years instead of nine months I think I could come back to this very place and feel much the same as I do today.  So little has changed about this backyard that it’s almost as if we haven’t changed when we’re in it.  Ten years ago I laid on this hammock under this tree and — I don’t know what I expected — but I guess I am kind of surprised that we are the only ones to have grown up.

Things don’t change; people do.

Still, here in this backyard, Kate and I are once again what we always were: childhood friends, — nearly sisters — bright eyed Kentucky gals looking up at a soft blue sky.

“I think the sky is different here,” I say, skipping the context. Kate waits for further explanation.

“You remember how I used to get homesick…”

She mumbles her confirmation, tucking her hands behind the nape of her neck.  Kate of all people remembers the times (that seem so ironic now) when I would make up excuses about prior obligations just to get out of spending the night at slumber parties.  A genuine homebody, I was thirteen when I first spent the night at a friend’s house.  It was right here at Kate’s, just two minutes down the street.

I admit to Kate that even after I got over my fears of spending the night at other peoples’ houses I still had bouts of homesickness at times.  Like the summer I was seventeen and I spent five weeks at an arts program an hour away from home.

“I’d lie on the bench in front of my dorm building and do this,” I say, cupping my hands around my eyes like racehorse blinkers.  “Every time I felt at a loss for the familiar I’d tune everything out and concentrate on the sky– it’s the same everywhere, right?”

My little tactic got me through a few rough moments in college, when I found myself in not-so-southern-hospitality Massachusetts.  I also remember plopping on the ground and putting on the blinkers during my first year in France, before I grew accustomed to my host mom and the trail of cigarette smoke that followed her around the house.  But that was three years ago.

Today the sky is different, and I can’t tell you why.

If I said it’s a gentle shade of baby blue, with low, puffy cumulus clouds blowing south you might say you’ve seen that in France.

Perhaps after all it is my own perspective that has changed.  It’s been a while since I’ve used those blinkers and the bigger picture is always — happily — different from what it seems.

TRADUCTION A LA MELIE:

Sous d’autres cieux

“J’ai l’impression que le ciel est différent ici”.

Kate et moi sommes allongées sur le dos dans le hamac. Un air de musique folk s’échappe de l’iPhone entre nous et depuis un quart d’heure, c’est à peu près le seul bruit émanant de notre petit coin sous l’érable. Nous écoutions les paroles – enfin moi, j’écoutais – pendant que Kate écoute les cassures de rythme et la complémentarité acoustique des membres du groupe. Elle est devenue critique régulier récemment, une propension qu’elle attribue modestement aux heures passées à étudier son vocabulaire médical au son de Bon Iver et The Black Keys.

Si j’étais partie dix ans au lieu de neuf mois, je crois que j’aurais pu revenir à ce même endroit et ressentir à peu près la même chose qu’aujourd’hui. Si peu de choses ont changé dans ce jardin que c’est presque comme si nous n’avions pas changé quand nous y étions. Dix ans plus tôt j’étais allongée dans ce hamac sous cet arbre et – je ne sais pas à quoi je m’attendais – mais je crois que je suis un peu surprise que nous soyons les seules à avoir grandi.

Les êtres changent, pas les choses.

Pourtant dans ce jardin, Kate et moi sommes une fois de plus ce que nous avons toujours été : des amies d’enfance, presque des sœurs, des filles du Kentucky aux yeux brillants, contemplant le doux ciel bleu.

« J’ai l’impression que le ciel est différent ici, » dis-je, d’un seul coup. Kate attend des explications.

« Tu te souviens comme je n’aimais pas être ailleurs qu’à la maison … »

Elle marmonne son approbation, croisant les mains derrière sa nuque. Kate plus que tout autre se souvient de l’époque (cela semble tellement ironique maintenant) où j’inventais des excuses à propos d’engagements antérieurs juste pour échapper aux soirées pyjamas. Une vraie casanière, j’avais 13 ans la première fois que j’ai dormi chez une amie. C’était juste là, chez Kate, à deux minutes de la maison.

J’ai avoué à Kate que même après avoir surmonté ma peur de dormir ailleurs que chez moi, j’ai toujours continué à avoir des accès de nostalgie par moment. Comme cet été de mes 17 ans où j’ai passé cinq semaines en stage artistique, à une heure de la maison.

« Je m’allongeais sur le banc devant le dortoir et je faisais comme ça, » dis-je en creusant les mains autour de mes yeux comme des œillères, « Chaque fois que mes habitudes me manquaient, je débranchais tout et je me concentrais sur le ciel, c’est le même partout non ? »

Cette petite tactique m’a permis de traverser des moments un peu durs au lycée, quand je me suis retrouvée au Massachusetts (pas si accueillant qu’un état du sud). Je me rappelle aussi m’affaler sur le sol et mettre mes œillères pendant ma première année en France, avant de m’habituer à ma maman d’accueil et au parfum de cigarette qui la suivait partout dans la maison. Mais c’était il y a trois ans.

Aujourd’hui le ciel est différent, et je ne peux pas vous dire pourquoi.

Si je vous dis qu’il a des douces nuances bleu layette, avec des petits cumulus moutonneux courant vers le sud, vous allez me dire que vous avez déjà vu ça en France.

Peut être qu’après tout c’est mon propre point de vue qui a changé. Cela fait très longtemps que je n’ai pas mis ces œillères et la vision panoramique est toujours – et heureusement – différente du point central.

2 Comments

Filed under Home, Kentucky

2 responses to “Lying under a different sky

  1. I loved this post and I have something I want to ask you about it…the next time I see you–please remind me. We’re all, oh so glad, you are home for a while. Hugs!

  2. i really like this— and beautiful picture. and that you are with kate 🙂 there’s always something about looking up the sky, the clouds, and the stars that leads to this undeniable comfort. as i look up and appreciate the view i have, i wonder who else is gazing up and feeling like despite the vastness, for a moment what you see is all yours.

Leave a Reply

