Allez mesdames-messieurs, Allez!

“Allez, mesdames-messieurs, allez! Mes fraises fraiches, deux euros la barquette, allez!”

I smile at the gray-haired old woman as I pass in front of her fruit stand. Pacing behind a table adorned with little red jewels, she doesn’t notice my smile, or even pause before her strawberry serenade flows seamlessly into a cucumber carol.

Fine form today, I think to myself upon hearing the familiar voice of the North African man across the way belting out his typically incomprehensible market spiel. “Allez,” he calls, following with a “mesdames” and trailing off into something that only he can understand about his fruits and vegetables.  He’s my favorite merchant, and although I have never bought anything from his pricy stand, I make sure to pass by each time I go to the market, just to hear his pitch.

At the dairy stand, I hand over two empty glass yogurt pots in exchange for a discount on my purchase of three full ones. Then I cross the market to the bakery to pick up a still-warm baguette for 85 centimes. A woman with unintentionally orange hair and a Mary Poppins purse steps in front of me.  There are no lines in France.  The eyes of the girl behind the counter dart between us as she hands another customer his bread, and the elderly lady catches on.  “Excusez moi, Mademoiselle.  Après vous.” She nods her head at me.

“Pas de problème, Madame,” I say, and then: “Une baguette s’il vous plaît.”

{My honey…man}

Yogurt in one hand, baguette in the other, I return to my studio, my penthouse, my chambre de bonne.  Mine for just one more day.

Mine for just one more day, this little lookout in Dijon.

And yet, as I pack my boxes, I can’t help but feel that I am arranging bits of this morning — and all the mornings like it — to take with me when I go.  This little studio will probably never be mine again, but there is still so much of it I can keep forever.

COMING UP: Recap of a wonderful two week tour of France, and the continuation of my helpful and humorous travel hints! I’ve been at it again folks, so get ready for some armchair travel to the D-Day beaches, Mont-St-Michel, the site of Joan of Arc’s martyrdom, a wedding in a castle, a gypsy pilgrimage to the Mediterranean sea, a horseback ride in the marshland of the Camargue, bullfights in Nimes, and some really great tips on how to avoid foot fungus in hostels.  (Sorry, I just had to reward all of those who read the whole list.)  More soon!

PS- Special thoughts of my brother, who would have been 22 today.  Forever young, Brycie Bru. We miss you.

TRADUCTION A LA MELIE:

“Allez, mesdames-messieurs, allez! Mes fraises fraiches, deux euros la barquette, allez!”

Je souris à la vieille dame aux cheveux gris en passant devant son étal de fruits. Faisant les cent pas derrière sa table ornée de petits joyaux rouges, elle ne remarque pas mon sourire et passe sans transition de sa sérénade pour fraises à son hymne aux concombres.

« En pleine forme aujourd’hui » me dis-je en écoutant la voix familière du Nord Africain de l’autre côté vociférant son incompréhensible baratin de marché. « Allez » appelle-t-il, suivi d’un « mesdames » sa voix se perdant ensuite dans quelque chose à propos de ses fruits et légumes que lui seul peut comprendre. C’est mon marchand préféré, et même si je n’ai jamais rien acheté à son stand hors de prix, je fais exprès de passer devant à chaque fois que je vais au marché, rien que pour entendre son boniment.

A la crèmerie, je tends mes deux pots en verre de yaourts vides en échange d’une réduction sur l’achat de trois pleins. Puis je traverse le marché jusqu’à la boulangerie pour acheter une baguette toute chaude pour 85 centimes. Une femme aux cheveux colorés involontairement en orange et portant un sac de Mary Poppins arrive de l’autre côté. Il n’y a pas de file d’attente en France. Les yeux de la fille derrière le comptoir passent de l’une à l’autre alors qu’elle tend son pain à un autre client, et la vieille dame comprend. « Excusez-moi, Mademoiselle, Après vous. » dit-elle en hochant la tête.

« Pas de problème, Madame »dis-je, puis « une baguette s’il vous plait ».

Les yaourts dans une main, la baguette dans l’autre, je retourne dans mon studio, mon penthouse, ma chambre de bonne. La mienne pour un jour encore.

A moi pour encore une journée, ce petit poste d’observation à Dijon.

Et là, en faisant mes cartons, je ne peux m’empêcher de penser que je suis en train d’assembler des morceaux de cette matinée – et de tous les autres matins comme celui-là – pour les emmener avec moi quand je partirai. Ce petit studio ne sera probablement plus jamais le mien, mais il y a pourtant tant de choses que je peux garder pour toujours.

A VENIR : un résumé d’un fabuleux tour de France de deux semaines et la suite de mes conseils touristiques pratiques et humoristiques ! J’y suis allée les enfants, alors préparez vous à un voyage sans bouger de votre fauteuil sur les plages du débarquement, le Mont Saint Michel, le lieu du martyr de Jeanne d’Arc, un mariage dans un château, un pèlerinage gitan en mer méditerranée, une ballade à cheval dans le marais camarguais, une corrida à Nîmes, quelques tuyaux vraiment supers et comment éviter d’attraper des mycoses des pieds à l’auberge de jeunesse. (Pardon, félicitations à ceux qui ont lu toute la liste). La suite bientôt !

PS : une pensée spéciale pour mon frère, qui aurait eu 22 ans aujourd’hui. Jeune pour toujours, Brycie Bru, tu nous manques.

6 Comments

Filed under Adventure, Bryce, Cool Characters, Culture, Dijon, Food, Gratitude, Travel

6 responses to “Allez mesdames-messieurs, Allez!

  1. maryanita

    Can’t wait!

  2. It causes me painful physical reactions of longing and wistfulness, but of course I’ll still reading your blog, poopsie. I would give 14 hours if immaculate phone tree customer service for another fresh, delicious baguette…. le sigh.

  3. Dijon’s market. I simply have to go one last time tomorrow, to say “à bientôt” to my dried-fruit lady. 🙂

    Until next time, ma chère!

    Barb

  4. Moma Sandy

    I LOVE shopping the markets of France vicariously through you sweet Emily! Saying good-bye to a “moment” in your life is never easy … but I promise, there is more adventure just around the bend. Can’t wait to see you back in beautiful Kentucky … we have missed you dearly.

  5. Pingback: Paris is calling. She says she booked your apartment in the 14th this summer. | EmilyintheGlass

Leave a Reply

