The rules of growing up and being cool…and the rule of understanding

“It’s the perfect day to take pictures,” I say, heaving my camera-laden purse onto the couch.  I’d come prepared to propose a walk to the Botanical Gardens and excited to spend the beautiful evening outside with the boys.  “What do you say we take a walk?”

Emile answers by running up the stairs to find his camera. Lucien says he’ll go if he can ride his scooter.  Only Jules does not reply, walking instead to the open window and leaning out, as if by doing so he will disappear into the backyard.

“The blossoms are on the trees and the flowers are out and evening light is the best light for pictures,” I say all in one breath.  Jules, the oldest, is usually the easy one to persuade.

But tonight things are different.

When he turns around I see a look of determination on his face.  He hesitates to speak, but raises his shoulders in mock apathy.  I see him searching for something and holding back.

“Come on,” I chant, “It’ll be fun!”

“Yeah,” Emile chimes in.  “And if we wait till next week the flowers will be off the trees.”

Blossoms,” I correct, remembering my responsibility to expand the boys’ vocabulary. “But, good point. they’ll be gone.”

Jules shakes his head.  “You guys go without me,” he says finally.

I cross my arms and lean against the counter, raising an eyebrow. I’m determined too. But I don’t understand.  Jules always takes my side, always champions my ideas.

“We’re not going without you,” I smile, convinced I will be able to woo him.  He props his arms on the counter, rests his chin in his palms and sighs, as if once again he is holding back.

“Get your shoes, boys,” I say, making a show of grabbing my purse: I’m ready to go.  Jules doesn’t move.  He looks up at me without straightening. His brown eyes are almost sad, as if he regrets to hurt me but there is some secret obligation that he can’t ignore.

And then I get it.  He has considered the odds and weighed the consequences of possibly running into one of his lycee friends between here and the park.  He has imagined being caught speaking English with a girl his parents hired to speak English with them.  He has speculated about his reaction should a comrade give him a hard time.  And he has decided that it is not worth the risk.  He cannot go.

I give up the fight.  “Let’s just play here,” I say.

Sure, I’m disappointed — and all three of them know that.  But I’ve forgotten my desire to take pictures of flowers and blossoms.  My heart aches a little for the inevitable moment that I knew all along would come around one day.  I’m saddened by it, but I don’t hold it against Jules for not wanting to go, or even for the potential slight of his embarrassment to be seen in public with me.  High school’s not easy, I know that.

Still, I remember two years ago, when we played basketball in the backyard and Jules would demand my attention, saying, “Emily, watch this!” as he sunk the ball in the net.

Walking home, I feel empathy for all the mothers I’ve known and for the future mother in me.  This must be a taste of what it’s like to wake up one day and realize that the child has grown into a man and there’s nothing you can do but let go, I think.

I appreciate the fact that Jules, at 16, almost never uses the excuse of “homework” to avoid playing with his two younger brothers and me.  He still bounds down the stairs with a big smile on his face when I come in the door.  He helps me build up his youngest brother when Emile calls Lucien a “dummy.” (It’s a habit everyone but Emile is trying to break.)  He plays card games and basketball with us — and he cooks when I bring a recipe.

But he won’t go to the Botanical Gardens to take pictures with two amateur photographers and a brother on a scooter.  I guess, after all, I can’t complain.  Everyone has to grow up someday, even the sweet little boys who have added so much to my life in France.

TRADUCTION A LA MELIE:

Apprendre à grandir et rester cool … apprendre à comprendre

« C’est un jour idéal pour faire des photos » déclarai-je en saisissant le sac contenant mon appareil photo sur le canapé. J’étais venue en me préparant à proposer une promenade au jardin botanique et excitée à l’idée de passer cette magnifique soirée dehors avec les garçons. « Qu’est ce que vous en dites, on va se balader ? »

Emile a répondu en courant à l’étage chercher son appareil photo. Lucien a déclaré qu’il venait s’il pouvait prendre son scooter. Seul Jules n’a pas répondu, au lieu de cela il a marché vers la fenêtre et s’est penché, comme s’il allait ainsi disparaître dans le jardin.

« Les arbres sont en fleurs, les fleurs sont sorties, la lumière du soir est la meilleure pour les photos », dis-je d’un souffle. Jules, le plus vieux, est d’habitude le plus facile à convaincre.

Mais ce soir les choses sont différentes.

Quand il se retourne, je lis la détermination sur son visage. Il hésite à parler, mais hausse les épaules d’un faux air de dédain. Je vois qu’il cherche quelque chose et qu’il se retient.

« Allez » serinai-je, « on va bien s’amuser ! »

« Ouais » rajoute Emile. « Et si on attend la semaine prochaine, il n’y aura plus de fleurs (flowers) aux arbres ».

« Blossoms, » ai-je corrigé, me rappelant mon rôle d’accroître le vocabulaire des garçons. « Mais c’est vrai, elles seront parties. »

Jules secoue la tête. « Allez-y sans moi, vous, » dit-il finalement.

Je croise les bras et m’appuie sur le comptoir en levant les sourcils. Je suis déterminée aussi. Mais je ne comprends pas. Jules est toujours de mon côté, toujours champion de mes idées.

« On n’y va pas sans toi » dis-je en souriant, convaincue que je serai capable de le persuader. Il pose ses bras sur le comptoir, cale son menton dans ses mains et soupire, comme si une fois encore il se retenait.

« Mettez vos chaussures les garçons » dis-je, montrant l’exemple en attrapant mon sac : je suis prête. Jules ne bouge pas. Il me regarde sans me fixer. Ses yeux bruns sont plutôt tristes, comme s’il regrettait de me faire de la peine mais il y a une obligation cachée qu’il ne peut ignorer.

Puis je comprends. Il a envisagé les possibilités et pesé les conséquences d’une éventuelle rencontre avec un ses copains du lycée entre ici et le parc. Il s’est imaginé pris en train de parler anglais avec une fille embauchée par ses parents pour parler anglais avec eux. Il a spéculé sur sa réaction si jamais un camarade lui faisait passer un mauvais moment. Et il a décidé que ça ne valait pas le coup. Il ne peut pas y aller.

J’ai rendu les armes. “Jouons ici alors” déclarai-je.

Bien sûr, je suis déçue – et nous le savons tous les trois. Mais j’ai oublié mon désir de prendre des photos de parterres et d’arbres en fleurs. Mon cœur saigne un peu pour ce moment qui je l’ai toujours su devait arriver un jour. J’en suis attristée, mais je n’en veux pas à Jules de ne pas avoir voulu venir, ni même de l’affront potentiel de sa honte d’être vu en public avec moi. Ce n’est pas facile le lycée, je sais cela.

Pourtant, je me souviens il y a deux ans, quand nous jouions au basket dans le jardin et que Jules attirait mon attention en disant « Emily, regarde ça ! » en lançant le ballon dans le filet.

En rentrant chez moi, je ressens de l’empathie pour toutes les mères que j’ai connues et pour la future mère en moi. Cela doit être un avant goût de ce que tu dois ressentir quand tu te lèves un matin et que tu réalises que l’enfant est devenu un homme et que tu ne peux rien y faire, ai-je pensé.

J’apprécie le fait que Jules, à 16 ans, n’utilise jamais l’excuse des « devoirs » pour éviter de jouer avec ses deux jeunes frères et moi. Il dévale toujours les escaliers avec un grand sourire quand je franchis la porte. Il m’aide à soutenir son plus jeune frère quand Emile traite Lucien de « demeuré ». (C’est une habitude que tout le monde sauf Emile essaie de faire passer).

Il joue aux cartes et au basket avec nous – et il cuisine quand j’apporte une recette.

Mais il n’ira pas au jardin botanique prendre des photos avec deux photographes amateurs et un frère sur un scooter. Je crois après tout que je ne peux pas me plaindre. Tout le monde doit grandir un jour, même les si gentils garçons qui ont tant apporté à ma vie en France.

6 Comments

Filed under Cool Characters, Dijon, Gratitude, Laugh it off, Photography

6 responses to “The rules of growing up and being cool…and the rule of understanding

  1. Katie

    He may not wanna be seen in the park with you and his brothers speaking English but he will let you take a photo of him, I’m not sure I would have allowed at during my self concious teen years. What a lovely relationship you have with these boys. But please will you stop breaking my heart with your blog posts! xxx

  2. J. Forsberg Meyer

    Very moving. You will make a terrific mother, Emily. The apple falls not far from the tree.

  3. maryanita

    Very insightful Emily. You have touched my heart again. You are learning much and experiencing life at it’s best. Those boys are very special, as is your relationship with them. love you.

  4. Moma Sandy

    Sooooo Emily ~
    When are you AND “the boys” coming home to Kentucky for a visit???
    PS: Sugar is shedding her winter coat … at night we grab handfuls off her back and the birds use it to line their nests all snug!

  5. Katie Guardino

    Wow, Emily!
    I must admit I look at your blog from time to time and have always thought you were a great writer, but this brought tears to my eyes!! Very impressive, I love it. I’m so happy for you and for what’s going on with your life, hope you’re doing well and you’re as happy as you seem!

    • So nice to hear from you, Katie! Thank you so much for letting me know you read…sometimes I wonder who is interested and every bit of encouragement helps…I hope to continue writing — and more than just a blog! 😉 Take care!

Leave a Reply

