A little bit fishy…

I Cannot Go to School Today

By Shel Silverstein

“I cannot go to school today”
Said little Peggy Ann McKay.
“I have the measles and the mumps,
A gash, a rash and purple bumps.

My mouth is wet, my throat is dry.
I’m going blind in my right eye.
My tonsils are as big as rocks,
I’ve counted sixteen chicken pox.

And there’s one more – that’s seventeen,
And don’t you think my face looks green?
My leg is cut, my eyes are blue,
It might be the instamatic flu.

I cough and sneeze and gasp and choke,
I’m sure that my left leg is broke.
My hip hurts when I move my chin,
My belly button’s caving in.

My back is wrenched, my ankle’s sprained,
My ‘pendix pains each time it rains.
My toes are cold, my toes are numb,

I have a sliver in my thumb.

My neck is stiff, my voice is weak,
I hardly whisper when I speak.
My tongue is filling up my mouth,

I think my hair is falling out.

My elbow’s bent, my spine ain’t straight,
My temperature is one-o-eight.
My brain is shrunk, I cannot hear,

There’s a hole inside my ear.

I have a hangnail, and my heart is …
What? What’s that? What’s that you say?
You say today is ………….. Saturday?

G’bye, I’m going out to play!”

I woke up with this poem in my head and had to surmise that it was my past coming back to remind me about all the fun I used to have on April Fool’s Day.  My proudest April Fool moment was inspired by this poem, which I had memorized when I was about ten.  Upon waking up one April 1, I affected my most miserable sounding voice and told Mom I couldn’t possibly go to school.  I told her I was sure I had a fever, and when she left to search for the thermometer I made a dash to the bathroom where I filled up the hot water bottle and brought it back to bed with me, hiding it in the sheets.  When she came back and slipped the thermometer under my armpit, I shimmied the hot water bottle up close and pressed it against the tool.  Careful not to leave it there too long, I waited until the temperature read 104 degrees and then called for Mom.  When she came in, I gave her the “dying” look and handed her the thermometer with a shaking hand.

Her face dropped.  Her eyes widened.  Her hair went completely gray.  And then she turned and ran to the phone and dialed my dad’s cell.  “We have to take Emily to the doctor — to the hospital — right now!” I heard her say.

Then I darted into her room, giggling and holding the hot water bottle and yelling, “April Fool!”

(Her hair magically turned brown again.)

Did you know that April Fool’s Day actually originated in France?  Here it is known as the “Poisson d’Avril” — the April Fish — and the French celebrate by discreetly pinning paper fish onto their friends’ backs.  But before this custom came around, apparently it was a question of the calendar year beginning in January as opposed to April…

Legend has it that up until 1564 the New Year was celebrated on April 1.  In 1564, however, King Charles IX decided to modify the calendar, so that the next year would begin the first of January.  On the last day of December 1564 festivities began to prepare for the new New Year and the next day everyone wished each other a “bonne année,” sharing gifts as was the custom.  But when April rolled around, a few jokers decided to continue to honor April 1 by making it the day of gag gifts, just for laughs.

What about the fish?

A long-standing tradition continues to forbid fishing at the beginning of April since it is the breeding period.  Since April Fool’s Day was established, however, some jokers thought it funny to play a trick on fishermen by throwing sardines (a salt-water fish) into the fresh-water rivers and yelling, “Poisson d’Avril!” The tradition continues today by attaching paper fish to peoples’ backs with the unspoken understanding that anyone who notices is obliged not to reveal the trick to the wearer of the fish.

What’s your favorite April Fool’s story?

**Image Credits: Shel Silverstein (image 1) and Google images

TRADUCTION A LA MELIE:

Un peu poisson

Je ne peux pas aller à l’école aujourd’hui

Je ne peux pas aller à l’école aujourd’hui
Dit la petite Peggy Ann McKay
J’ai la rougeole et les oreillons
Une coupure, des boutons et des bosses vermillon.

Ma bouche est mouillée, ma gorge est sèche
Je deviens aveugle de l’œil droit
Mes amygdales sont énormes
J’ai compté seize boutons de varicelle.

Et en voilà encore un – ça fait dix-sept
Vous ne trouvez pas que je suis verte ?
J’ai les jambes coupées, mes yeux sont bleus,
Ca pourrait être la grippe instamatic.

Je tousse, j’éternue, je halète et j’étouffe,
Je suis sure que ma jambe gauche est cassée.
Ma hanche me fait mal quand je bouge mon menton,
Mon nombril est tout creusé.

Mon dos est tordu, ma cheville foulée,
Mon appendice me fait mal à chaque fois qu’il pleut.
Mes orteils sont froids, mes orteils sont engourdis,

J’ai une écharde dans le pouce.

J’ai la nuque raide, la voix faible,
Je murmure difficilement en parlant.
Ma langue remplit ma bouche,
Je crois que mes cheveux tombent.

Mon coude est tordu, ma colonne est pas droite,
J’ai 42 ° de fièvre.
Mon cerveau a rétréci, je n’entends rien,

J’ai un trou dans l’oreille.

J’ai des peaux autours des ongles, mon cœur ….
Quoi ? comment ? qu’est ce que tu dis ?
Tu dis qu’on est ….. dimanche ?

Salut, je vais jouer dehors !

Je me suis réveillée avec ce poème dans la tête et j’ai supposé que c’était le passé qui remontait pour me rappeler comme je m’amusais le premier avril. Le poisson d’avril dont je suis la plus fière a été inspiré par ce poème, que j’ai appris vers dix ans. En me réveillant un premier avril, j’ai pris ma voix la plus misérable et déclaré à Maman que je ne pourrai peut être pas aller à l’école. Je lui ai dit que j’étais sûre d’avoir de la fièvre, et lorsqu’elle est partie chercher le thermomètre, je me suis ruée dans la salle de bain où j’ai rempli la bouillotte, puis je l’ai rapportée dans mon lit et cachée sous les draps. Quand elle est revenue et qu’elle a glissé le thermomètre sous mon bras, j’ai approché la bouillotte et je l’ai collée contre l’objet. Attention à ne pas la laisser trop longtemps, j’ai attendu jusqu’à ce que la température indique 40 degrés puis j’ai appelé Maman. Quand elle est revenue, j’ai pris mon regard « agonisant » et je lui ai tendu le thermomètre d’une main tremblante.

Son visage s’est décomposé. Ses yeux se sont écarquillés. Ses cheveux sont devenus tout gris. Puis elle a couru au téléphone et composé le numéro de portable de Papa. « Il faut emmener Emily chez le médecin, à l’hôpital, tout de suite ! » l’ai-je entendu dire.

Là, j’ai filé dans sa chambre, éclaté de rire en secouant la bouillotte et hurlé « Poisson d’avril ! »

(Par magie, ses cheveux sont redevenus bruns.)

Saviez-vous que la tradition du premier avril vient en réalité de France ? Ici on l’appelle « Poisson d’Avril » et les français le célèbrent en accrochant discrètement des poissons en papier dans le dos de leurs amis. Mais avant cela, il était apparemment question de l’année civile commençant en janvier et non pas en avril …

La légende raconte que jusqu’en 1564 on fêtait la Nouvelle Année le 1er avril. Pourtant, en 1564, le roi Charles IX décida de modifier le calendrier, et que l’année suivante commencerait le 1er janvier. Le dernier jour de décembre 1564, les festivités commencèrent pour préparer cette nouvelle Nouvelle Année et le jour suivant tout le monde se souhaita « Bonne Année » et échangea des cadeaux, comme le voulait la tradition. Mais quand avril revint, quelques plaisantins décidèrent de continuer à honorer le 1er avril en faisant le jour des farces, juste pour rire.

Qu’en est-il du poisson ?

Une tradition bien ancrée interdit la pêche début avril puisqu’il s’agit de la période de reproduction.  Cependant depuis l’avènement du premier avril, certains farceurs trouvaient amusant de piéger les pêcheurs en jetant des sardines (poisson d’eau salée) dans les eaux claires des rivières et en hurlant « Poisson d’avril ». La tradition continue aujourd’hui et consiste à accrocher des poissons en papier dans le dos des gens, avec la règle sous entendue que toute personne s’apercevant de la farce ne doit pas le révéler au porteur du poisson.

Quelle est votre histoire de Poisson d’avril préférée ?

5 Comments

Filed under Culture, Just for laughs, Laugh it off

5 responses to “A little bit fishy…

  1. Jennifer Pietropaoli

    Love this one =) I did not know the fishtory of this day (har har har)

  2. Wie interessant! Danke!
    ~C
    PS~Poor Mary….

  3. I LOVE Shel.. I used to memorize his poems. Sister for sale is a good one 😛

    • One sister for sale!
      One sister for sale!
      One crying and yelling young
      sister for sale!
      I’m really not kidding,
      So who will start the bidding?
      Do I hear a dollar?
      A nickle?
      A penny?
      Oh, isn’t there, isn’t there,
      isn’t there any
      One kid who will buy this old sister for sale?
      This crying and yelling young
      sister for sale?

Leave a Reply

