A letter to my friends and family the day after a gloomy anniversary

The next time you hesitate before sending an email of support to an old friend, or pause before sending a random text, or wonder whether it would be more appropriate to write a handwritten note, or stumble upon the words to say…the next time you tell yourself you will write a longer letter later, or that a hug cannot be sent virtually, or that your words won’t mean as much as the next guy’s

DON’T.

Don’t hesitate. Don’t pause. Don’t wonder. Don’t stumble. Don’t talk yourself out of it.

Remember this:

Yesterday was a day I had been dreading and you made it better.

I received beautiful emails from old friends and new, facebook messages filled with memories, blog comments of support from people I don’t necessarily know very well, random texts to tell me I’m loved, apologies for the lack of written notes, for the lack of words to heal my soul.  I received candy and companionship. I received virtual hugs and kisses, real hugs (and the promise of kisses), and dozens of one-liners that shot right to the point and straight to my heart. I love you. I’m with you. If you need me, call me.

I wrote a letter to my brother but I was calling out to you.  And you responded.

When I went to bed last night, my heart was filled more with gratitude than with sadness.  This is something I will remember the next time I hesitate or pause or wonder or stumble or try to talk myself out of it.

At times like this, a little love goes a long way.  So, thank you.  I love you!

Photo credits: Weheartit.com

TRADUCTION A LA MELIE:

Lettre à mes amis et ma famille au lendemain d’un triste anniversaire

La prochaine fois que vous hésiterez avant d’envoyer un email d’encouragement à un vieil ami, que vous suspendrez votre geste avant d’envoyer un texto inattendu, ou que vous vous demanderez s’il ne serait pas plus approprié d’écrire à la main ou butterez sur les mots à dire … la prochaine fois que vous direz que vous écrirez une lettre plus longue, plus tard, ou qu’une étreinte ne peut s’envoyer virtuellement, ou que vos mots ne valent pas plus que ceux du voisin

NE LE FAITES PAS.

N’hésitez pas. Ne suspendez pas votre geste. Ne vous demandez pas. Ne buttez pas. Ne vous posez pas de question.

Souvenez-vous de ceci :

Hier était un jour que je redoutais, et vous l’avez embelli.

J’ai reçu de superbes emails des vieux amis et des nouveaux, des messages facebook plein de souvenirs, des commentaires de soutient sur mon blog de la part de gens que je ne connais pas particulièrement, des textos inattendus pour me dire qu’on m’aime, des excuses pour le manque de lettres, pour le manque de mots pour guérir mon âme.

J’ai reçu des bonbons et de la camaraderie. J’ai reçu des étreintes et des baisers virtuels, de vraies étreintes (et la promesse de baisers) et des dizaines de messages d’une ligne qui m’allaient droit au cœur. Je t’aime. Je suis avec toi. Si tu as besoin, appelle-moi.

J’ai écrit une lettre à mon frère, mais c’est vous que j’appelais. Et vous avez répondu.

Quand je suis allée me coucher hier soir, mon coeur était plus rempli de gratitude que de tristesse. C’est quelque chose dont je me souviendrai la prochaine fois que j’hésiterai ou suspendrai mon geste ou me demanderai ou butterai ou que je me poserai des questions.

Dans ces cas là, un peu d’amour fait beaucoup. Alors merci. Je vous aime.

5 Comments

Filed under Bryce, Gratitude, Inspiration

5 responses to “A letter to my friends and family the day after a gloomy anniversary

  1. Melie the french sister ...

    You deserve it Em, we simply send you back the love you send us.

  2. Jennifer Pietropaoli

    These two posts gave me chills the whole time I was reading them. Even on the days of the worst rivalries or nagging or teasing I can’t imagine losing any of my siblings and so these posts definitely hit home. My heart goes out to you but I love that you’ve made the memories about the laughing, bickering, secret-keeping, blackmailing reality that is “sibling-hood”… it’s truly a bond that’s different from anything else.

  3. You’re welcome, my dear. 🙂

  4. Anita Maria

    Emily,
    What a wonderfully gracious thank you to all who have helped heal the wound. Loved your blog of thankfulness. Keep writing… I love you!

  5. palmer

    thinkin about you love! sorry been a little out of touch lately! but am still here for you! missin you and lovin you!!!

Leave a Reply

