Dear Mathieu: I’d miss my train every day for a note like that

“Emilie, thank you for teaching us English.  Now I will be able to speak English with my cousins and my uncle and aunt.” — Mathieu, 9 years old

What if I had made it to the station in time for the 5:11 train?  What if I had stopped before the last verse of “If You’re Happy and You Know It” with the first-graders? If I had passed by Florence’s office without poking my head in to say goodbye and receive some last minute planning suggestions? What if I had broken into a run outside the school instead of favoring my tired muscles (20 km yesterday!)?

I probably would have been home before six, that’s what.

But I would not have passed Mathieu on the sidewalk, or heard his quiet “Ello, Emily,” or turned to see that he was fishing around in his backpack for something special for me.

Tenez,” he said, holding out a slightly crumpled sheet of notebook paper.  I took it, catching his sheepish glance before reading what was written on the page.  “Thank you,” it began…

Mathieu is a shy boy, with a timid smile and gap teeth.  Dirty blond hair sticks up this way and that, and he shuffles slightly as he walks home alone from school.  I have a feeling he is used to turning the key at an empty house.

He’s one of my favorites, but I try not to let on.

Today, however, at probably about the same time the 5:11 train was pulling away toward Dijon, I planted a kiss on each of his pale cheeks.  “Thank you,” I said.  “This means so much to me!”

TRADUCTION A LA MELIE:

Cher Mathieu : je manquerai mon train tous les jours pour un mot comme celui là.

« Emilie, merci de nous apprendre l’anglais. Comme ça je pourrai parler anglais avec mes cousins et tonton et tata » Mathieu – 9 ans

Et si j’avais réussi à être à la gare à l’heure pour le train de 5h11 ? et si je m’étais arrêtée avant le dernier vers de « Si tu es heureux et que tu le sais » avec la classe de première année ? Si j’étais passée devant le bureau de Florence sans passer la tête pour dire au revoir et recevoir les dernières suggestions d’emploi du temps ? et si j’avais piqué un sprint à la sortie de l’école au lieu de prendre soin de mes muscles fatigués (20 km hier !) ?

J’aurai surement été chez moi avant six heures, c’est sur.

Mais je n’aurai pas doublé Mathieu sur le trottoir, ou entendu son petit « Ello, Emily », je ne me serai pas retournée pour le voir plonger dans son sac à dos à la recherche de quelque chose de spécial pour moi.

« Tenez » dit-il, tendant une feuille de cahier légèrement froissée. Je l’ai prise, captant son regard penaud avant de lire ce qui était écrit sur la page. Cela commençait par « Merci ».

Mathieu est un garçon réservé, avec un sourire timide et les dents écartées. Ses cheveux blonds sales vont dans tous les sens et il traine un peu des pieds pour rentrer chez lui. J’ai le sentiment qu’il a l’habitude d’ouvrir la porte sur une maison vide.

C’est l’un de mes préférés, mais j’essaie de ne pas en tenir compte.

Aujourd’hui pourtant, probablement à peu près au moment où le train de 5h11 partait pour Dijon, j’ai planté un baiser sur chacune de ses joues pâles. « Merci » dis-je « cela signifie tellement pour moi ! »

5 Comments

Filed under Gratitude, Inspiration, Teaching, Unconventional Wisdom

5 responses to “Dear Mathieu: I’d miss my train every day for a note like that

  1. Katie

    Oh God, Emily your blog posts never fail to make me cry, what a wonderful teacher you must be!

  2. You do have to love those “what if” situations. At least you knew the outcome to this one. 🙂

  3. Monsieur le Blonde

    This little vignette made me think, instantly, of an old EM Forster quote from eons ago (Howard’s End) “Only connect the prose and the passion, and both will be exalted, and human love will be seen at its height. ” Well done!

Leave a Reply

