Stylish blogging: moving forward, skating in circles

“Style is the mind skating circles around itself as it moves forward” — Robert Frost

What is style? Ladies and Gentlemen, when I found out I had been awarded the “Stylish Blogger Award,” compliments of Nina (of Francey Pants fame) I promptly reached up to grab a pen from my dresser and start brainstorming the required “Seven Things” response, knocking over my Dijon Tap Water pitcher and spilling water very nearly all over my laptop, over my backpack and about three-fourths of the floor space in my apartment.  Instead of cursing, I yelled the French version of “ouch” (Aie!), grabbed the pitcher, and held it just under the edge of the table where the rest of the water was dripping onto the floor.  Excessive efforts went into sparing these few drops from hitting the ground as I took a big step toward my sink and reached with my free hand for the sponge, which I used to lap up the rest of the water before raising the pitcher above my head, envisioning a golden Oscar in its place and saying out loud, “I just won a Stylish Blogger Award, baby!”

That’s right. I. Am. Stylish.

As I mentioned above, the honor of winning this award demands that I share seven things about myself and then pass the award along.  This I will do, but not before thanking the lovely and stylish Nina for her sweet words of nomination and compliments on my writing, and for recognizing the beautiful silky lining in the fabulous wool coat I found during the soldes.  Fat kisses to you, Love.

And now, on with some things that may or may not be useful to know, but are nonetheless very “me.”

1. I have a bright red, silver-dollar birthmark on my chest that quite frequently goes mistaken for a rash. I never even notice it anymore and only correct people’s assumptions when they actually verbalize their concern. The only reason I thought of it now was because I was searching for odd and interesting things to share, which necessitated a full-body inventory.  To the best of my knowledge, this is my most atypical feature.  Cool side note: my dad has the same, exact birthmark in the same, exact place, so — as if such a mark were indispensable to guaranteeing the obvious — there could never be any mistake that I am my father’s daughter.

2. When I was twelve years old I started my own business teaching horseback riding lessons with my best friend Kate. We transformed the old stable on her farm into “Bluebird Barn” (named for all the bluebird boxes planted on fence posts on the premises), drafted a liability release form to protect us should any of our students fall off and die, or — I kid you not — be run over by wild farm machinery, put some shoes on the old work horse, and plastered advertisements in ice-cream shops all over town.  Don’t ask me why a dozen Louisville mothers trusted us with their children. I still ask myself the same question, at the same time I thank my lucky stars that the whole entrepreneurial endeavor turned our to be an actual success for several consecutive years!

3. …We also published a monthly newsletter. “The Bluebird Brigade” was sent by mail to all of our students’ parents and included articles about why horses are good for little girls’ souls, the pros and cons to owning your own horse versus riding our Old Popcorn, upcoming jump-painting parties on the farm, and what to do if your son or daughter were afraid to get back on after a fall.  I’m not sure how many people read it, although I am pretty sure I had an inkling a lot of parents didn’t, because I specifically remember writing a front-page article entitled “The Top Ten Reasons to Read the Bluebird Brigade.” Feisty little entrepreneur, huh?

4. I consider my Catholic Faith one of the greatest gifts my mother gave me. If I had to index the 5,434,598 blessings my mother has bestowed upon me, my faith would be right up there with the gift of life.  I’ll be the first to admit that I don’t live my faith as I should, that I have a thousand questions, that I sometimes downright despise certain “rules” I see as limitations.  But I can also say that knowing I could live my faith better inspires me to set my sights higher, that asking questions stimulates independent study, and that the occasional desire to rebel against authority leads to a deeper understanding of the reasons for that authority.  I’m fascinated by the works of brilliant artists and authors who over the centuries have battled with their own faith and still come to the conclusion that despite what the world says, God does exist and there is a certain order.  In a world that seems to glorify every man as his own god, I am refreshed by the fact that there are scientists and poets, doctors and lawyers who still believe with their whole hearts in something that they can’t touch and can’t prove.

5. If I’ve had a day that seems to have been unproductive, I force myself to think about mundane things I learned in the last 24 hours. My Uncle Hank always used to say, “What do you know, Emily?” …the mandatory response being, “More than yesterday!”  I attribute my weird habit to him every time I catch myself being grateful for things like learning how to slice red cabbage, or discovering a new wine, or using a colloquial French expression in the right context with the right timing and maybe only one or two stutters.

6. I carry around a hot water bottle like a Baptist carries his Bible. Okay, maybe not that extreme. But, at the beginning of winter I saw a red hot water bottle hanging in the window of a shop called “Vieillard” (The Old Person) and it called out to me as the little black dress must have called out to Coco Chanel.  I didn’t even compare prices, I just hopped right in and bought the thing, paying exactly twice as much as I would have if I bought one at the Monoprix down the street.  It has, however, proven to be an investment I will never regret.  Its uses are various and sundry and include pre-heating my sheets at night, soothing running soreness, keeping my hands above a frighteningly icy temperature, and serving as a portable lap-heater when I’m sitting on the sidelines of the occasional winter tennis match. That’s right, folks.  No shame.  None at all.  One last thing: I will have you know that my hot-water-bottle-evangelism has inspired Sarah* (*name has been altered to preserve reputation) to convert from her pre-hot water bottle days and follow in my [warm] footsteps.

7. I have a tendency to ramble. I need to work on that.

And now I will pass the award on to Fatimah of Forever Fatimah, a young woman I have never met but whose blog I follow because of her interesting perspective and her positive, life affirming quotations.  I especially love this post, about being grateful for what we have when most of the world has so much less than we do.

My stylish self, a couple years ago. Emily in the Glass of a horse trailer right before a trail ride with Aunt Lindsey. (Sporting Wal-Mart shades that fit over my regular glasses.)

 

TRADUCTION A LA MELIE:

Blogger avec style : aller de l’avant, tourner en rond.

« Le style, ce sont les tours et les détours de l’esprit alors même qu’il va de l’avant » – Robert Frost

Qu’est ce que le style ? Mesdames et messieurs, lorsque je l’ai découvert, j’ai reçu le « Stylish Blogger Award » décerné par Nina (du célèbre Francey Pants), j’ai vite levé le bras pour me saisir d’un crayon sur le buffet et commencer à me remuer les méninges pour trouver les « Sept choses » demandées, tout en bousculant ma carafe « Eau de Dijon » et en renversant l’eau quasiment sur mon ordinateur portable, sur mon sac à dos et sur à peu près les trois quarts du sol de mon appartement. Au lieu de me maudire, j’ai hurlé la version française du « ouch » (Aïe !), attrapé la carafe et je l’ai maintenue sous le bord de la table où le reste de l’eau gouttait par terre. Ces efforts excessifs ont épargné le sol d’être frappé par ces quelques gouttes pendant que je faisais le grand écart jusqu’à l’évier pour attraper l’éponge de ma main libre, que j’ai utilisée ensuite pour essuyer le reste de l’eau avant de brandir la carafe au dessus de ma tête, imaginant à sa place un Oscar en or et déclarant d’une voix forte « je viens de gagner un « Stylish Blogger Award », bébé ! ».

 

C’est vrai, J’ai. Du. Style.

Comme mentionné plus haut, l’honneur de recevoir cet récompense exige que je partage sept choses à propos de moi et qu’ensuite je passe le trophée. Je m’exécuterai donc, mais pas avant d’avoir remercié l’adorable et stylée Nina pour ses gentils mots de nomination et ses compliments sur mon écriture, et pour sa mention de la superbe doublure en soie du fabuleux manteau en laine que j’ai trouvé pendant les soldes. Enormes baisers à toi, Love.

Et maintenant, en avant avec certaines choses utiles ou inutiles à savoir, mais qui sont néanmoins très « moi ».

1. J’ai une tache de naissance rouge vif, de la taille d’un dollar en argent sur le buste, que l’on confond souvent avec une éruption cutanée. Je ne la remarque même plus et corrige seulement les hypothèses des gens lorsqu’ils expriment verbalement leur préoccupation. La seule raison pour laquelle j’y pense maintenant et que je cherchais quelque chose de bizarre et d’intéressant à partager, ce qui nécessitait un inventaire complet de mon corps. A ma connaissance, c’est le seul fait atypique me concernant. Note agréable : mon père possède exactement la même tache, exactement au même endroit, donc – comme si une telle marque était indispensable pour garantir l’évidence – on ne pourra jamais en douter, je suis la fille de mon père.

2. A douze ans, j’ai commencé mon propre business en enseignant l’équitation avec ma meilleure amie Kate. Nous avons transformé l’ancienne écurie de sa ferme en « Bluebird Barn » (ainsi nommée en raison de tous les nichoirs à oiseaux plantés sur les piquets de clôture des environs), rédigé un formulaire de décharge afin de nous protéger si l’un de nos élèves tombait et se tuait, ou – je ne plaisante pas – était écrasé par un engin de ferme fou, ferré le vieux cheval de travail et placardé des publicités chez tous les marchands de glace de la ville. Ne me demandez pas pourquoi une douzaine de mères de famille de Louisville nous ont fait confiance pour leurs enfants. Je me pose toujours la même question tout en remerciant ma bonne étoile du réel succès de toute cette entreprise pendant plusieurs années consécutives.

3… Nous publiions aussi une lettre mensuelle. “The Bluebird Brigade” était envoyée par courrier à tous les parents de nos élèves et comprenait des articles sur les bienfaits du cheval sur l’âme des petites filles, les avantages et inconvénients de posséder son propre cheval plutôt que monter notre vieux Popcorn, les événements saut/peinture à venir à la ferme, et que faire si votre fils ou fille avait peur de remonter à cheval après une chute. Je ne suis pas sûre du nombre de lecteurs, tout comme je suis quasiment sure d’avoir ma petite idée : beaucoup de parents ne la lisaient pas, parce que je me souviens avoir écrit un article à la une intitulé « les dix meilleures raisons de lire la Bluebird Brigade ». Petit entrepreneur ardent, hein ?

4. Je considère ma foi catholique comme l’un des plus beaux cadeaux que m’ait fait ma mère. Si je devais classer les 5 434 598 bénédictions que m’a mère m’a accordées, ma foi serait là tout en haut avec le don de la vie. Je suis la première à admettre que je ne vis pas ma foi comme je le devrai, que j’ai des milliers de questions, que j’enfreins parfois délibérément certaines « règles » que je considère comme des limitations. Mais je dois dire aussi que savoir que je pourrai mieux vivre ma foi me pousse à voir plus haut, que se poser des questions stimule l’étude individuelle et que le désir occasionnel de se rebeller contre l’autorité mène à une compréhension plus profonde des raisons de cette autorité. Je suis fascinée par le travail d’artistes et auteurs brillants qui se sont battus au cours des siècles avec leur propre foi et qui en viennent toujours à la conclusion que quoiqu’en dise le monde, Dieu existe et il y a un certain ordre. Dans un monde qui semble glorifier chaque homme comme son propre dieu, je suis rassurée de voir que des scientifiques et des poètes, des docteurs et des avocats croient toujours de tout leur cœur en quelque chose qu’ils ne peuvent pas toucher et pas prouver.

5. Si j’ai eu une journée qui m’a parue improductive, je me force à penser aux choses banales que j’ai apprises dans les dernières 24 heures. Mon oncle Hank me demandait toujours « que sais tu Emily ? » …la réponse obligatoire étant « plus qu’hier ! » je lui attribue cette habitude étrange à chaque fois que je me surprends à être reconnaissante pour des choses comme apprendre à émincer du chou rouge, ou découvrir un nouveau vin, ou utiliser une expression familière en français dans le bon contexte, au bon moment et peut être avec seulement un ou deux bégaiements.

6. Je transporte ma bouillotte comme un Baptiste transporte sa Bible. Bon d’accord, peut être pas à ce point. Mais, au début de l’hiver, j’ai vu une bouillotte rouge pendue dans la vitrine d’une boutique appelée « Vieillard » et elle m’a appelée comme la petite robe noire a du appeler Coco Chanel. Je n’ai même pas comparé les prix, j’ai bondi et acheté l’objet, payant certainement deux fois plus cher que je l’aurai fait au Monoprix en bas de la rue. Cela s’est avéré pourtant un investissement que je n’ai jamais regretté. Ses usages sont divers et variés, incluant préchauffage de mes draps le soir, apaisement des douleurs du footing, maintien de mes mains au dessus d’une température effroyablement glaciale et chauffage individuel portable lorsque je suis assise au bord du terrain pendant l’occasionnel match de tennis hivernal. C’est vrai les amis. Pas de honte. Vraiment aucune. Une dernière chose : je vous informe que ma bouillotte-évangile a inspiré Sarah * (le nom a été modifié afin de préserver sa réputation) qui s’est convertie de ses jours avant bouillotte et marche dans mes (chaudes) traces.

7. J’ai tendance à radoter. Je dois y travailler.

Et maintenant je passe la récompense à Fatimah de Forever Fatimah, une jeune femme que je n’ai jamais rencontrée mais dont je suis le blog en raison de son point de vue intéressant et de ses citations positives et vivantes. J’aime particulièrement ce post, à propos du fait d’être reconnaissant pour ce que l’on a alors que la plupart du monde possède bien moins nous.

Légende photo :

Mon très stylé moi, il y quelques années. Le reflet d’Emily dans une remorque à chevaux avant une randonnée avec Tante Lindsey (Hublots de sport Wal-Mart qui tiennent par-dessus mes lunettes de vue)

8 Comments

Filed under Dijon, Gratitude, Inspiration, Just for laughs, Laugh it off

8 responses to “Stylish blogging: moving forward, skating in circles

  1. Aaaaah you’re awesome, I’m SO honored! I enjoyed reading your seven things :). I don’t think I’ll be able to top them but I will work on mine over my break teehee :).

    P.s. Kate has told me about your horse business! You all are the baddest chicks around, seriously.

  2. J. Forsberg Meyer

    You ARE stylish, baby! And your nominator’s words–“writes so beautifully it hurts”–are my thoughts exactly. I’d add has courage of her convictions and fresh, quirky, fun. The whole package, in other words. Write on, champ!

  3. Kate Smiley

    First, CONGRATULATIONS on getting some much-deserved kudos for your lovely blog! Second, it is nothing short of awe-inspiring that two such fantastic people as you and Fati are connected by your bloggerishness, even though you’ve “technically” never met. (Ha! Screw you, social norms of interaction). Third, and last because I tend to ramble as well, if I were to happen upon your blog by chance, I would immediately think, “This chick is awesome. I want to be her best friend!”. But we already are, and THAT…is a daily miracle.

  4. lisa

    WOW! Congrats! Not only Stylish–but CLASSY!! So very proud of you! and I loved your paragraph about your lovely momma! YOu are so right, her sacrifices and prayers have truly contributed to your many blessings from GOD! But Emily–YOU are a true blessing to your parents and to all of us! thanks for sharing so many experiences with us all!! Miss YOu!

  5. Pingback: A Horse Called Popcorn: Part II | EmilyintheGlass

Leave a Reply

