Hello, Stranger

What if people really can feel the thoughts we think about them, if we think them hard enough?

It is five o’ clock and the thought on everyone’s mind as we push out of the train station is home.  Maybe the businessman who just elbowed me is thinking of his kids, their little arms thrown around his neck and waist, and a whole day of worries evaporating like steam rising from the simmering pot on the stove. There’s a punk swaggering beside me with his scowly face pierced up one side and down the other.  Probably he has dinner plans with his girlfriend and he’s forgotten to pick up the onions or creme fraiche or some other ingredient she asked him to get.  I have my own five o’ clock preoccupations, namely a little place where I can unzip my boots and wiggle my toes and pour myself a bowl of pretzels that I’ll smear with peanut butter before even thinking about dinner.

That’s exactly what I am daydreaming about when I look up and see the familiar face of a girl I remember sitting next to on the train maybe a month ago.  Bespectacled with the perfectly round glasses you’d only imagine seeing on your grandmother or John Lennon, she has her own style, to put it nicely.  From the ground up she’s a picture of nonconformism: a French beatnik in black biker boots, faux leather tights and a shiny sequined miniskirt crowned with a leather jacket. She rushes past me, equally pulled by the gravitational force of home.

And then there is her hair. Although earlier I had recognized her face, until now I had overlooked her most striking feature.  A great mahogany mass of wavy hair rushes like a current down her back.  Even in the failing sunlight of late afternoon its luster brilliantly competes with the sequins on her skirt.

“Wow,” I say, under my breath.

At a crosswalk, she stops and I catch up.  Between the cars rushing into town and the cars rushing out, I stand by her side and she looks my way.  Fixing my gaze on the building or the street sign or the nothing in front of me, I know she has noticed me.  Out of the corner of my eye I realize she recognizes me too now.  She is smiling.

What else to do but what everyone does when someone is smiling at them?  I turn my head her way nonchalantly, hoping she’ll think I’m just as surprised to see her as she seems to see me.  “I didn’t recognize you at first,” she says.  Odd, since I wouldn’t have expected her to recognize me at all.  “Vous allez bien?”


I am surprised.  We never even spoke that morning on the train.

Oui, oui,” I affirm, and then — I don’t know why I couldn’t stop it, but! —  just like that, I blurt out, “J’adore vos cheveux!”

She laughs, and I am embarrassed, but the brightness behind her Lennon specs eases the heat in my cheeks.  “Ah bon?” She says. “Je pensais les couper, en fait.”

“No! You shouldn’t cut it,” I reply.  It is so beautiful.”

From this awkward beginning, I learn she is also a teacher, who, as I do, prefers to live in Dijon rather than the city where she teaches French.  The stoplight has changed and we have crossed the street.  “So, you teach your language and I teach mine, and we both take the train from Dijon every day,” she says, laughing at the coincidence of our meeting and already sharing so much.

“Yes,” I say. We’re coming up on a corner and I can already tell she’s being pulled in a different direction, so I make it quick.  “…I’m sure we’ll run into each other again.  I’m Emily, by the way.”

“Samuelle,” she says, extending her hand.  “If we do, we can get a coffee, peut-etre.”

“Avec plaisir!” I say, stepping off the corner to cross the street.  “A bientot, alors!”

As I walk away I catch myself shaking my head, a residual smile still plastered on my face.  What had inspired this girl to speak to me?  Had she felt the weight of my judgments about her unconventional clothes or the warmth of my appreciation for her flowing hair? I can’t resist finding the whole situation — which spanned the course of maybe two minutes — a bit bizarre. To each his own at this five o’ clock hour, and then not.

For just a moment the gravitational pull on two young strangers collides, and even if they never do run into each other again, for that moment they are fellow teachers and friends.
**Image credits: Chemers Gallery, The New Yorker

TRADUCTION à la Mélie:

Salut, Etranger …

Et si les gens ressentaient vraiment ce qu’on pense d’eux si l’on y pense assez fort ?

Il est cinq heures et la seule chose que chacun a en tête en sortant de la gare est « chez moi ». Peut être que l’homme d’affaires que je viens de croiser pense à ses enfants, leurs petits bras enroulés autour de son cou et de sa taille, tous ses soucis de la journée s’évanouissant comme la vapeur d’une bouilloire sur le feu. Un punk se pavane à côté de moi, l’air renfrogné, le visage percé de part en part. Peut être qu’il a prévu un diner avec sa copine et qu’il a oublié les oignons ou la crème fraîche, ou tout autre ingrédient qu’elle lui aurait demandé de rapporter.

J’ai mes propres préoccupations de cinq heures, en l’occurrence un petit endroit où je pourrai dézipper mes bottes et agiter mes doigts de pieds, me servir un bol de bretzels que je plongerai dans du beurre de cacahuètes et ce avant même de penser au diner.

Voilà à quoi j’étais en train de rêver toute éveillée lorsque j’ai levé la tête et aperçu le visage familier d’une fille avec laquelle je me souviens avoir pris le train peut être un mois plus tôt.

Portant les lunettes parfaitement rondes que seuls votre grand-mère ou John Lennon porteraient, elle a son propre style, pour le dire gentiment. Du bas en haut c’est l’image même du non-conformisme : une beatnik française, bottes de moto noires, collants simili cuir, minijupe à sequins étincelante et blouson de cuir pour couronner le tout. Elle me dépasse rapidement, poussée elle aussi par la force gravitationnelle du « chez moi ».

Et puis il y a ses cheveux. Même si j’ai d’abord reconnu son visage, j’ai jusqu’à maintenant fermé les yeux sur son signe le plus particulier. Une superbe masse de cheveux ondulés couleur acajou dégringole comme un torrent le long de son dos. Même dans lumière tardive de cette fin d’après midi, son éclat concurrence avec brio les sequins de sa jupe.

« Waou » m’exclamais-je dans un souffle.

Elle s’arrête au passage piéton et je la rattrape. Entre les voitures fonçant en centre ville et celles en sortant, je me tiens à ses côtés et elle regarde dans ma direction. Fixant mon regard sur les immeubles ou la rue ou le néant en face de moi, je sens qu’elle m’a remarquée. Du coin de l’œil je réalise qu’elle ma reconnue. Elle sourit.

Que faire d’autre que ce qu’on fait quand quelqu’un nous sourit ? Je tourne la tête vers elle avec détachement, espérant qu’elle pensera que je suis aussi surprise de la voir qu’elle semble surprise de me voir. « Je ne vous ai pas reconnue tout de suite» déclare-t-elle. Etrange, je ne m’imaginais pas qu’elle me reconnaisse du tout. « Vous allez bien ? »

Je suis surprise, nous n’avons jamais échangé un seul mot dans le train ce matin-là.

« Oui, oui » affirme-je, et – je ne sais pas pourquoi je n’ai pas pu m’arrêter – juste comme ça, je laisse échapper : « J’adore vos cheveux ! »

Elle rit, et je suis gênée, l’éclat de son regard derrière ses lunettes à la Lennon me fait piquer un fard. « Ah bon. ? » dit-elle, « Je pensais les couper en fait »

« Oh non ! ne les coupez pas, ils sont magnifiques. » réplique-je.

Après ces débuts embarrassant, j’apprends qu’elle est également enseignante, et qu’elle préfère elle aussi vivre à Dijon plutôt que dans la ville où elle enseigne le français. Le feu piéton  est passé au vert et nous avons traversé la rue. « Alors vous enseignez votre langue, j’enseigne la mienne et nous prenons toutes les deux le train pour rentrer à Dijon chaque jour, » déclare-t-elle s’amusant de la coïncidence de notre rencontre et de nos nombreux points communs.

« Oui » dis-je. Nous arrivons au coin de la rue et je sens qu’elle va dans l’autre direction, donc je fais vite « … je suis sûre que nous allons de nouveau nous croiser, je m’appelle Emily au fait. »

« Samuelle » répond-elle en me tendant la main «si c’est le cas nous pourrons boire un café, peut être. »

« Avec plaisir ! » dis-je, descendant du trottoir pour traverser la rue « A bientôt alors ! »

En m’éloignant je me suis surprise à secouer la tête, les restes d’un sourire imprimé sur mon visage. Qu’est ce qui a incité cette fille à m’adresser la parole ? A-t-elle ressenti le poids de mes jugements sur ses vêtements hors norme ou la chaleur de mes appréciations sur sa cascade de cheveux ? je ne peux m’empêcher de trouver cette situation – qui n’a duré qu’environ deux minutes – un peu étrange. Chacun pour soi en cette fin d’après-midi, mais tant de choses en commun.

Pour juste un instant les forces gravitationnelles ont fait se télescoper deux jeunes étrangères et même si elles ne se rencontrent plus jamais, à cet instant elles sont collègues et amies.

7 Comments

Filed under Cool Characters, Dijon, Home, Teaching, Unconventional Wisdom

7 responses to “Hello, Stranger

  1. This is just lovely, Emily. I wish that I could have encounters as charming as yours. 🙂

  2. Katie

    This is such a lovely blog post, and yes, Barbara I also enjoyed your post of a simular theme. You are both talented bloggers, if only my blog was this readable!

  3. Ah, Emily…another winning post. Thanks for starting my day out with a smile. Happy Valentine’s~~<3

  4. Judy

    Your post really made me stop and think. How many times we have eye contact with a stranger, but not sure if they want to talk or not. What have we got to lose?

Leave a Reply

