Am I too young for a walk down Memory Lane?

Joan of Arc, Francois Rude museum, Dijon

 

“May I have your phone number?”

Lena follows her question with a nervous explanation: “My Grandma says I should take your number just in case I have trouble with English in sixth grade and need private lessons.” She blinks at me with little doe eyes, but despite her apprehensive tone she doesn’t look away.

The bell has just rung and I had been too busy shuffling papers and erasing the board to see that eleven-year-old Lena had hung back when all of her friends raced away to lunch.  Now I am looking down at her petite French frame, all legs and tall black boots.  Something about this moment seems so familiar to me.

“But you won’t have trouble in sixieme,” I say, stifling a giggle.  Lena is one of my best, most interested students. Already ahead of the game.

“J’adore l’anglais, c’est pour ca…”

Oh, I get it.  She doesn’t need private lessons, but she wants them.  From me.

A series of familiar circumstances races through my brain all at once.  In the span of two, maybe three seconds I remember staying after class to tell my eighth grade French teacher that I loved French and that I was going to study it until I became good enough to live in France. I promised her I would one day be able to have a real conversation with her, instead of just conjugating verbs on her blackboard.

I remember afternoons on horseback in Kentucky during which I transported myself to France and was Joan of Arc.  Atop my chestnut steed (actually a Thoroughbred racehorse-turned-show horse) I waved my riding crop alternately as a banner and as a sword whenever I charged, yelling — I kid you not — Vive la France!

Timer and myself, flying as a "zebra" across the cross-country course during Team Challenge, circa 2002

I remember telling my high school teacher that I was going to study abroad in France and become so good that I could speak to my children in French and spare them the trouble of having to learn it the hard way.  I remember her telling me that this was a silly idea because when it comes down to it, mothers always speak the language in which they can best express their love.  I remember that it took me a few years to get over being offended and actually understand the truth in her words.

Finally, I recall the day during my first year in college when I nervously approached the French foreign language assistant, Clemence, to tell her that I lived and breathed the words that came so effortlessly from her mouth, that I was in love with the French language.  What I really wanted was to be her friend and learn everything she could teach me about French culture, even before I had the chance to study abroad. I remember hanging back after the bell had rung, when everyone else was heading to lunch, or the library, or another class…

“You won’t have any trouble in sixieme, Lena,” I repeat, fishing in my purse for a pen.  “But I will give you my phone number and I would be happy if you called to talk about lessons.”

I scribble my number down, every single digit a reminder to me of how the tables have turned.  Then, remembering the courage it took to approach my own teachers, I add, “And thanks for staying after class.  It really means a lot.”

Merci, she responds with an adoring smile as she takes the slip of paper from my hand.  Then she disappears into the hall, hurrying to join her friends.

Traduction à la Mélie

Suis-je trop jeune pour la ronde des souvenirs ?

« Pourrais-je avoir ton numéro de téléphone ? »

Lena s’explique nerveusement : « Ma Grand-Mère dit que je devrais prendre ton numéro au cas où j’aurais des problèmes en anglais en sixième et besoin de cours particuliers » Elle me fixe avec ses yeux de biche, et malgré son ton apeuré elle ne détourne pas le regard.

La sonnerie vient de retentir et j’étais trop occupée à ranger mes papiers et effacer le tableau pour remarquer que cette petite Lena de 11 ans restait là alors que tous ses camarades avaient couru déjeuner. Alors je l’observe, si française, avec ses longues jambes et ses grandes bottes noires. Et ce moment me parait très familier.

« Mais tu n’auras aucun problème en sixième » pouffais-je. Lena est l’une de mes meilleures élèves, et la plus investie. Déjà une longueur d’avance.

« J’adore l’anglais, c’est pour ça… »

Ca y est j’ai compris. Elle n’a pas besoin de cours particuliers, elle veut que je lui donne des cours particuliers.

Une foule de souvenirs assaille ma mémoire. En l’espace de deux, peut être trois secondes je me souviens être restée après la fin du cours pour dire à mon professeur de français de quatrième que j’adorais le français et que j’allais l’étudier jusqu’à être capable de vivre en France. Je lui ai promis qu’un jour je pourrais avoir une vraie conversation avec elle, au lieu de seulement conjuguer des verbes sur son tableau noir.

Je me souviens d’après midis à cheval au Kentucky pendant lesquels je m’imaginais en France et me prenais pour Jeanne d’Arc. Sur mon cheval châtaigne (en réalité un pur-sang de course reconverti en cheval de compétition) je brandissais ma cravache tantôt comme une bannière tantôt comme un sabre en chargeant, hurlant – ce n’est pas une blague – Vive la France !

Je me souviens avoir déclaré à mon professeur au lycée que j’allais étudier en France et devenir si douée que je pourrais parler français à mes enfants et leur épargner la difficulté de l’apprendre autrement. Je me souviens qu’elle m’avait répondu que c’était une idée stupide parce que dans ces cas là, les mères parlent toujours la langue qui traduira le mieux leur amour. Je me souviens que cela m’a pris quelques années pour ne plus être vexée et comprendre réellement la véracité de ses propos.

Finalement, je me suis remémorée le jour, lors de ma première année à l’université, où j’avais nerveusement abordé l’assistante de français, Clémence, pour lui dire que je vivais et respirais les mots qui sortaient si facilement de sa bouche, que j’étais amoureuse de la langue française. Ce que je voulais vraiment, c’était être son amie et apprendre tout ce qu’elle pouvait m’enseigner de la culture française, et cela même avant d’avoir la chance d’étudier à l’étranger. Je me souviens m’attardant après que la cloche ait sonné, alors que tous les autres allaient déjeuner, ou à la bibliothèque, ou au cours suivant …

« Tu n’auras aucun problème en sixième, Lena » lui répétais-je, plongeant dans mon sac à la recherche d’un stylo. « Mais je te donne mon numéro de téléphone et je serais ravie si tu m’appelles pour parler des leçons. »

Je lui ai écrit mon numéro, chaque chiffre me rappelant comme la roue tourne. Et, me souvenant du courage dont j’avais eu besoin pour aborder mes propres professeurs, j’ajoutais « et merci d’être restée après le cours. Cela représente beaucoup. »

Merci, répond-elle avec un sourire adorateur en me prenant le papier des mains. Puis elle disparaît dans le couloir, se dépêchant pour rejoindre ses amis.

6 Comments

Filed under Adventure, Dijon, Gratitude, Horses, Inspiration, Teaching

6 responses to “Am I too young for a walk down Memory Lane?

  1. Emily. My goodness. Tears. I can’t even speak in full sentences. This is so, so achingly lovely.

  2. My dear, you are truly meant to be a teacher. Some of the people who I looked up to were my teachers and you clearly have the same effect with your own students. ^.^

    Than you for such a lovely, lovely post! Bisous

  3. J. Forsberg Meyer

    My Sophie looks up to you like this, but you know that. Lovely vignette, Emily!

  4. Em – You’re so amazing and I am soo proud of you and all that you have accomplished and all that you continue to do.
    Love you,
    K-

  5. palmer

    LOVE YOU!!!!!!!!

  6. Katie

    Beautiful. Truely! xx

Leave a Reply

